Home Alone – Your Child

 

나 홀로 집에

“아이들을 (18 살 미만) 집, 차, 혹은 다른곳에 혼자 두고 외출을 해도 되는 나이가 언제입니까?” 라는 질문을 자주 받습니다. 대부분의 부모들은 한번쯤은 잠깐 볼일을 보러 나간다는 이유로 아이들을 혼자 두고 자리를 비우 신 적이 있을것입니다.  하지만, 이런 가벼운 행동들이 보호자 혹은 부모에게 법적인 책임을 물을 수 있습니다. 그래서 저의 대답은 “보호자나 부모님의 보호없이 아이들을 혼자두고 자리를 비우는 것에는 법적으로 안전한 나이가 없다” 입니다.

버지니아 아동보호 법에 의하면 보호자나 부모가 의도적으로 아이를 위험하거나 보호가 필요한 상황에 방치할 경우, 아이들의 나이에 대한 재한없이 보호자나 부모를 아동방치법 아래 처벌하게 되어있습니다 (일년이상의 구금과 평생 남는 평사처벌에 대한 기록). 반대로, 메릴랜드 아동보호 법은 나이의 재한이 있습니다. 메릴랜드 법 아래에서는, 여덟살(8) 미만의 아이를 집 혹은 차에 보호자나 부모의 보호없이 두어도, 다른 열세살(13) 이상의 아이와 함께 있다면 법적으로 책임을 묻지 않게 되어있습니다.

하지만, 열세살 이상의 아이가 어린아이를 다치지 않게 보호해줄수 있다는 보장은 없습니다. 만일, 열세살 이상의 아이의 보호아래 있던 여덟살 미만의 아이가 다치거나 안전하지 못한 상황에 처해 있는것을 경찰이 목격한다면, 그 책임은 열세살 이상의 아이가 아닌 보호자나 부모님에게 묻게 됩니다. 그러므로, 보호자나 부모님은 어떤 상황해서든지 어느 주의 법 아래에서든지 아이들을 안전하게 보호해야할 법적인 책임과 의무를 가지고 있습니다.

저 또한 이러한 사례를 몇번 맡은 적이 있습니다. 은행에 잠깐 체크를 넣으러 들어간 사이에 아이를 혼자 차에 두고 내린 사례, 월마트에 잠깐 볼일을 보러 들어간 사이에 두 아이를 차 안에 두고 내린 사례, 그리고 아이를 혼자 집에 두고 시장을 보러간 사례가 있었습니다. 결과는 모두 달랐습니다. 한 사례는 아예 죄를 묻지 않고 기각 되었으나, 다른 한 사례는 재판까지 가게 되었습니다.

여기서 중요한 것은, 아동방치법/아동보호법 아래 보호자나 부모님이 재판에 서게 된다면, 판사들은 아이들을 혼자 방치에 두었던 부호자나 부모에게 너그럽지 않습니다. 그러므로, 오늘부터라도 부모님들께서 “아이들을 집이나 차에 혼자 두고 잠깐 나가도 괜찮을까?” 라는 생각이 드신다면, 그 생각을 “어떻게 아이들을 함께 데리고 나가야 하지?” 라고 바꾸시는것이 좋을 듯 합니다.

Home Alone – Your Child.

I often get a question from parents about what age they can leave a child alone in the home or in the car or elsewhere.  I guess we are all guilty of this one time or another, in which we leave the child alone while we make a quick trip to the grocery or a quick stop somewhere to do our chores.  However, that action can get you into a lot of legal trouble since the simple answer to above is “there is no safe age” to leave a child unintended.

In Virginia, there is no age limit that you can safely leave a child unintended.  The law of child endangerment/neglect simply says if you willfully place a child in danger or in need of services/supervision, you are guilty of child neglect that can be punishable up to one year in jail – not to mention a criminal record that follows you forever.  In Maryland, the law is a little lenient in that you can leave a child who is younger than 8 years old alone in the house or car if you have another child at least 13 years of age who can take care of that younger child.

But that doesn’t mean a parent is not responsible for whatever happens to the child.  Imagine if a 13 year old you left to look after your child does something to harm your child.  Do you think the police will charge the 13 year old with a crime or you who left them all alone?

I have handled child endangerment/neglect cases in which a client left a car engine running while he quickly went into a bank to deposit a check; where a client left two children inside a car while she bought something quick at a Walmart; where a client left a child at home and went grocery shopping.  All had different results, with some case being dismissed and others being tried at court.

Remember, judges and prosecutors are NOT sympathetic to parents who leave their child alone.  So, the question you should ask yourself is not at what age can I leave my child alone in the house or car, but if I have to ask this questions, why can’t I just take them with me?

4 thoughts on “Home Alone – Your Child

  1. 허변호사님, congratulations!!! I randomly saw your site through my cousin’s Facebook link. Small world! Best wishes to you and your new venture!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s